Loading…
Loading…
CEFC (a AUD-denominated Australian federal government investment vehicle, analogous in function to EIB/KfW-style development-bank financing seen elsewhere in the register) is providing AUD 147m toward the ~AUD 900m Carmody's Hill project. The CEFC release does not disclose the debt/equity split of the AUD 147m tranche, nor identify co-financiers for the balance of project cost — likely a mix of commercial project-finance debt and sponsor/PE equity from Aula Energy, but unconfirmed from public sources.
The project is notable as the first wind farm nationally to reach notice-to-proceed under a Capacity Investment Scheme (CIS) underwriting agreement — CIS is the federal government's contract-for-difference-style mechanism for underwriting renewable generation and storage capacity, so this filing is a useful marker of CIS's first wind-sector activation.
Severity set at 2 (state aid, mid-size single-project financing, sector-specific renewable energy — consistent with the EIB/KfW loan comparables already in the register) rather than higher, since this is project finance for a single asset rather than an economy-wide scheme.
how quickly the federal underwriting scheme is converting pipeline into financial close across the NEM.
the state's wind capacity base ahead of the Davenport-Brinkworth corridor reaching congestion.
integration between state-owned generation/retail incumbents and merchant wind development.
co-financiers for the remaining ~AUD 750m of project cost — not disclosed in the CEFC release.
project have been or will be publicly disclosed.