Loading…
Loading…
The 12 March 2026 Primature press conference releases the mid-term findings of the National Commission for the Re-evaluation and Renegotiation of Petroleum, Gas, and Mining Contracts — a commission established in August 2024 under President Bassirou Diomaye Faye and Prime Minister Ousmane Sonko as a campaign commitment of the Pastef-led government elected March 2024. The Commission's mandate covers every hydrocarbon licence and major mining convention signed by prior administrations; the mid-term report covers actions taken in 2025-26 and outlines the path to a full-final deliverable.
Three operative components:
1. ICS / mining shortfall recovery (1,075.9 bn FCFA). The Commission identified non-payment of taxes and royalties plus unauthorised tax exemptions at ICS (Industries Chimiques du Sénégal), Senegal's flagship phosphate producer, accumulating to roughly 1,075.9 billion FCFA (≈ USD 1.8 bn at current rates). ICS is majority-owned by Indorama (Indonesia/Singapore) following the 2014 takeover. Additional shortfalls were identified at the country's cement-sector concessions (≈ 360 bn FCFA per year of incremental fiscal capture once reforms apply) and at Grande Côte Operations (Eramet — zircon/heavy mineral sands).
2. Termination of 4 offshore oil-exploration blocks. The Commission terminated the exploration permits for Djifer Offshore, Kayar Offshore Profond, Saint-Louis Offshore, and Rufisque Offshore. These were exploration-phase licences; no production was active. The termination clears the acreage for re-tender under the post-2024 fiscal regime. Two additional blocks (Kayar peu profond and Saint-Louis peu profond) remain under Commission review.
3. GTA gas-block renegotiation under active examination. The Greater Tortue Ahmeyim LNG project — Senegal's only producing hydrocarbon asset, BP-operated with Kosmos Energy and Woodside Energy as JV partners and a sister stake held by Mauritania — is identified as under renegotiation review ("en cours d'examen"). Projected fiscal gain: 900 bn FCFA across 2026-2040, plus an additional 1,090 bn FCFA in cumulative fiscal-revenue capture. The first GTA gas was produced in early 2025; Phase 1 nameplate capacity is ~2.4 Mtpa LNG.
The Commission was created under Décret in August 2024 (the specific decree number is not surfaced in the Primature publication; canonical lookup on jo.gouv.sn pending) and reports through the Prime Minister's office. Its findings underpin the planned Petroleum Code reform announced in parallel and the broader fiscal-revenue maximisation programme that Senegal committed to under the new IMF Resilience and Sustainability Facility (RSF) discussions following suspension of the prior 2023 programme.
the IPTM register.** Senegal joins the resource-nationalism cluster of Ecuador (Decreto 273, 2025-12-31), Mexico (Plan México, 2025-01-21), Chile (lithium strategy 2023), Argentina (RIGI / Decreto 449 / Decreto 563), DRC (cobalt export ban / artisanal-processing suspension), and Indonesia (UU 2/2025 Minerba). The pattern is convergent: new-term administrations re-pricing legacy resource contracts under the cover of compliance audits + fiscal-recovery findings, with proceeds earmarked for sovereign-development purposes.
Kosmos + Woodside have already taken FID and produced first LNG. Material contract revision would set a precedent for retroactive renegotiation of fully-developed African hydrocarbon assets — relevant for Mozambique (Rovuma LNG, TotalEnergies), Tanzania, and the entire Africa-LNG pipeline. Watch for whether revision is structured as a fiscal-take adjustment (tractable) or a local-content / carry-interest revision (more contentious).
FCFA shortfall is a statutory-tax claim against ICS / Indorama. Indorama has historically settled comparable disputes (Côte d'Ivoire, Nigeria phosphate) through multi-year payment schedules rather than lump-sum settlements; expect a similar pattern.
Senegalese exploration acreage.** The acreage cleared by the 4-block termination will be re-tendered, but under a framework where rates and terms are unknown until the Petroleum Code reform is enacted. Expect bidder hesitancy through 2026 H2.
current programme negotiations with the IMF are highly conditioned on additional revenue mobilisation; the Commission's findings provide the political cover and the numerical baseline (900 bn FCFA gas, 1,075.9 bn FCFA mining) that anchors the 2026-2028 fiscal framework.
Décret n° 2024-XXXX on jo.gouv.sn) and the individual termination decrees for the four offshore blocks — to be captured in a follow-up amendment row once published in the Journal Officiel.
fiscal-take revision (rate increase) or as a renegotiated PSC term-extension trade? The 900 bn FCFA figure suggests a fiscal-take revision but the Primature communiqué does not specify the mechanism.
Commission's mid-term findings reference an upcoming Code reform but the parliamentary calendar is not stated.
field operated by Woodside (first oil June 2024) is a separate licence not explicitly flagged in the 12 March release. Whether it lands in a subsequent Commission finding round is a watch item.
(Senegal-Mauritania); any unilateral Senegalese renegotiation will require Mauritanian alignment to avoid destabilising the joint operating framework.