Loading…
Loading…
The Neman gigafactory project was first announced in 2021 (construction agreement signed September 2021; groundbreaking October 2022) as a joint undertaking of Rosatom's fuel division and the Kaliningrad Oblast government, with total project cost escalating from an initial ~RUB 26.35bn estimate to ~RUB 51bn by 2023. The 15 December 2025 event marks the transition from construction to pilot-industrial operation (опытно-промышленная эксплуатация), with full serial production targeted for summer 2026 and design capacity expected by 2027.
The state-support package disclosed at the launch comprises three distinct instruments:
1. FRP concessional loan — RUB 5 billion from the federal Industry Development Fund under its "Avtokomponenty" programme, which lends at 3-5% annual interest over terms up to 7 years for projects producing vehicles, special equipment, or components (the same fund that received a separate RUB 1.8bn recapitalisation ten days later; see 2025-12-25-russia-industry-development-fund-recapitalisation-1-8bn-rub). 2. Regional subsidy — RUB 5 billion in direct subsidies from the Kaliningrad Oblast budget, part of a regional co-financing commitment first disclosed in 2023. 3. Special investment contract (SPIC) — a federal SPIC concluded for the project, which typically bundles tax and regulatory incentives (profit-tax reductions, guaranteed regulatory stability, procurement preferences) in exchange for localisation commitments, though the specific SPIC terms were not itemised in the launch-day disclosures.
Officials framed the launch explicitly in import-substitution and sovereignty terms: it is described as the only full-cycle (cell chemistry through finished battery pack) lithium-ion production line in Russia, filling the capability gap left by the 2022 exit of Western and Asian battery and EV suppliers.
aid, 4 GWh capacity) to Russia's post-2022 import-substitution industrial-policy stack, alongside the FRP's broader 2025 recapitalisation pattern.
area where Russia previously had no domestic full-cycle capacity and relied on Chinese (CATL, BYD-linked) cell imports — a sector China's own export-control and trade posture could otherwise leverage.
instrument; watch for further FRP-financed battery/EV-component projects surfacing via GTA state-act disclosures or FRP's own project registry (frprf.ru).
length) were not disclosed at launch and may surface in a follow-up regional-government or federal gazette filing.
has been revised further, and how much of that total the RUB 10bn disclosed here represents versus private/Rosatom internal financing.
lithium/cobalt/nickel feedstock is domestic, Chinese-imported, or drawn from Bolivian/other lithium partnerships Russia has pursued) is not specified in current public reporting.