Loading…
Loading…
Johnson Matthey (JMAT.L) is a UK-listed specialty chemicals company whose business is built on platinum group metals (PGMs).
Named counterparties identified by open-source research and written only where a primary source states the relationship — never inferred from sector or co-mention. 2 suppliers. This is a partial view: it covers the relationships we could evidence, not the company's full supply base.
JM's own press release: JM and Sibanye-Stillwater 'extended their current pgm supply and refining agreements to ensure long term sustainable supply for Johnson Matthey's products and customers'; no volume or share of JM's PGM feedstock disclosed.
JM's own press release: JM 'agreed an extension to our metal supply agreement with Anglo American Platinum Limited' (marketing agreement had run since 1992, amended/extended from 2004); a separate pgm market-research services contract also begins 31 Dec 2013. No volume or share disclosed.
Scope. Absence of a counterparty here is not evidence that none exists — most commercial sourcing is confidential and never becomes public. Rows without a share figure mean no share was disclosed, not that the relationship is small.
4 other tracked dossiers name this company as a counterparty in its own sourced disclosure — this platform never wrote these rows on this company's own page, they are read here inverted from the dossier that disclosed them. This is a partial view: 989 additional named-counterparty rows across the corpus could not be matched to a tracked dossier by name at all (mostly non-Latin legal names), so the true count is higher than what renders here.
Valterra Platinum (Amplats) and Sibanye-Stillwater announced a multi-year, multi-million-pound collaboration with PGM refiner/marketer Johnson Matthey on 2026-02-10 to develop new PGM-based technologies and grow demand beyond catalytic converters (currently ~60% of PGM offtake). This is a named, dated technology/demand-development partnership, not a disclosed metal-purchase or offtake volume — no price, tonnage or share terms are given, so no share_pct is recorded.
Johnson Matthey's own press release: JM 'agreed an extension to our metal supply agreement with Anglo American Platinum Limited'; the marketing agreement had run since 1992. Metal supply agreement stated; destination plant/country not stated, so no corridor credited; no volume or share disclosed. Checked 2026-09-27: Valterra's 2025 audited AFS (note 2, https://reports.valterraplatinum.com/25/downloads/valterra-platinum-annual-financial-statements-2025.pdf) gives gross sales by customer country (Japan R31.9bn, United Kingdom R23.7bn, Germany R15.6bn, China R14.2bn, South Africa R10.8bn, Hong Kong R5.7bn) but names no customer and says refining is done in-house at the Precious Metals Refinery (Rustenburg, ZA); no 2024+ document ties a JM plant to Valterra metal, so ZA>? stands.
Catalyst-coated membranes (CCM) for the FCPM stack — the platinum/iridium entry point of the module. JM release 2025-02-06, verified verbatim: 'JM's high performance CCMs will be used in Bosch's integrated, compact and scalable fuel cell power module for commercial vehicles, designed for longer distances.' Carries a Bosch EVP quote, so OEM-confirmed rather than supplier-only. Corpus link: jmat-l.
Johnson Matthey's own press release: JM and Sibanye-Stillwater 'extended their current pgm supply and refining agreements to ensure long term sustainable supply for Johnson Matthey's products and customers'. Supply and refining agreement stated; destination plant/country of the metal not stated, so no corridor credited; no volume or share disclosed.
Scope. This section is inverted evidence: each linked dossier wrote the original row about itself, describing its own relationship to this company. It is never a claim this company itself disclosed. Absence here is not evidence of no relationship — most of the corpus has no named-counterparty block at all yet.
Every exposure is read as a buyer dependency; the top 2 are its binding chokepoints.
As a buyer, policy pressure across its consumed materials is coverage-limited.
Descriptive trend in official policy actions on this company’s materials — a policy-pressure trend, not a price or trading signal. No forward probability is implied. Direction is measured on actions we have discovered, and discovery lags events: where the recent window is too thin to support a calm reading, the row says coverage-limited instead of easing.
🇬🇧 GB accounts for 100% of severity-weighted pressure.