Loading…
Loading…
Northam Platinum Holdings is a JSE-listed, integrated platinum-group-metal (PGM) producer headquartered in Johannesburg, South Africa. It mines the Bushveld Igneous Complex through three wholly-owned operations —
Named counterparties identified by open-source research and written only where a primary source states the relationship — never inferred from sector or co-mention. 2 suppliers, 2 customer-side. This is a partial view: it covers the relationships we could evidence, not the company's full supply base.
Northam's own announcement: a ten-year offtake agreement with Ivanplats Proprietary Limited (Ivanhoe Mines' South African subsidiary, Platreef project) under which 'Northam Platinum will purchase 20 000 tonnes of PGM concentrate per annum...representing approximately 50% of PGM concentrate to be produced from Phase 1', with Ivanplats retaining an option to reduce the volume by up to 5,000 tonnes/annum. Domestic ZA-ZA (Platreef is in Limpopo, South Africa), no flow recorded.
Tharisa's own Arxo Logistics page: 'The company manages the road transport of Tharisa Minerals' PGM concentrates to Northam and Sibanye-Stillwater (Keliber)' — Tharisa Minerals (Rustenburg, South Africa) supplies PGM concentrate to Northam. Domestic ZA-ZA, no flow recorded; no volume/share disclosed.
Northam summarised financial results for the year ended 30 June 2025 name 'Heraeus Deutschland GmbH & Co. KG' as 'one of our two precious metal refiners' (the other is Johnson Matthey, contracted for extra capacity), and note 31: 'Subsequent to year-end, Northam and Heraeus ... concluded an amicable engagement ... redetermination of historical refining outcomes ... Heraeus has made a once-off payment to Northam to the value of USD66.0 million'. The FY2025 document does not say which Heraeus refinery (Hanau DE vs Port Elizabeth ZA) treats the concentrate; the DE leg rests on Northam's metallurgical-operations page (https://www.northam.co.za/about-northam/metallurgical-operations). Prior: Northam's metallurgical-operations page states the remaining PGM solutions are filtered and dried into a final concentrate shipped to the Heraeus refineries in Hanau (Germany) and Port Elizabeth (South Africa), where the metals are toll-refined to 99.95% purity. Tolling relationship stated by Northam; the Heraeus 2015 release (heraeus.md row) adds that Heraeus purchases up to 40% of the refined metal. Corridor credited on the Hanau leg only; no volume split between Hanau and Port Elizabeth disclosed.
Northam CEO Paul Dunne, quoted in a Japan Times country report (2019-08-30): 'A substantial portion of our production is purchased by Mitsubishi Corporation RtM Japan and we recently signed a long-term partnership agreement.' Counterparty is Mitsubishi Corporation's RtM Japan trading subsidiary; interview in trade/sponsored press, not a Northam filing, so confidence secondary. Destination of the metal not stated, so no corridor credited; no volume or share disclosed.
Scope. Absence of a counterparty here is not evidence that none exists — most commercial sourcing is confidential and never becomes public. Rows without a share figure mean no share was disclosed, not that the relationship is small.
3 other tracked dossiers name this company as a counterparty in its own sourced disclosure — this platform never wrote these rows on this company's own page, they are read here inverted from the dossier that disclosed them. This is a partial view: 990 additional named-counterparty rows across the corpus could not be matched to a tracked dossier by name at all (mostly non-Latin legal names), so the true count is higher than what renders here.
Northam summarised financial results for the year ended 30 June 2025 name 'Heraeus Deutschland GmbH & Co. KG' as 'one of our two precious metal refiners' (the other is Johnson Matthey, contracted for extra capacity), and note 31: 'Subsequent to year-end, Northam and Heraeus ... concluded an amicable engagement ... redetermination of historical refining outcomes ... Heraeus has made a once-off payment to Northam to the value of USD66.0 million'. The FY2025 document does not say which Heraeus refinery (Hanau DE vs Port Elizabeth ZA) treats the concentrate; the DE leg rests on Northam's metallurgical-operations page (https://www.northam.co.za/about-northam/metallurgical-operations). Prior: Heraeus press release, Oct 2015: 20-year agreement extending a partnership dating from 1988; Heraeus refines Northam's PGM concentrates at Port Elizabeth (ZA) and Hanau (DE) and purchases up to 40% of Northam's refined precious metals. Terms as announced in 2015; not re-confirmed as current.
Northam CEO Paul Dunne, quoted in a Japan Times country report (2019-08-30): 'A substantial portion of our production is purchased by Mitsubishi Corporation RtM Japan and we recently signed a long-term partnership agreement.' Buyer is Mitsubishi Corporation RtM Japan, the group's metals trading subsidiary. Interview in trade/sponsored press, not a filing of either company, so confidence secondary; destination of the metal not stated, so no corridor credited; no volume or share disclosed.
Tharisa's own Arxo Logistics page: 'The company manages the road transport of Tharisa Minerals' PGM concentrates to Northam and Sibanye-Stillwater.' Tharisa Minerals (western Bushveld, South Africa) is this dossier's operating subsidiary. Domestic ZA-ZA, no flow recorded; no volume/share disclosed.
Scope. This section is inverted evidence: each linked dossier wrote the original row about itself, describing its own relationship to this company. It is never a claim this company itself disclosed. Absence here is not evidence of no relationship — most of the corpus has no named-counterparty block at all yet.
This company sits on the supply side for 5 of its 5 materials — a restriction on those is a tailwind, not a headwind.
As a producer, policy pressure across its produced materials is coverage-limited.
Descriptive trend in official policy actions on this company’s materials — a policy-pressure trend, not a price or trading signal. No forward probability is implied. Direction is measured on actions we have discovered, and discovery lags events: where the recent window is too thin to support a calm reading, the row says coverage-limited instead of easing.
No actions in the register have named or swept this company in the last 24 months.