Loading…
Loading…
Sociedad Química y Minera de Chile S.A. (NYSE: SQM) is a Chilean chemicals and mining company headquartered in Santiago, reporting across five segments: Lithium and Derivatives, Iodine and Derivatives, Potassium, Specialty Plant Nutrition, and Industrial Chemicals.
Named counterparties identified by open-source research and written only where a primary source states the relationship — never inferred from sector or co-mention. 6 customer-side. This is a partial view: it covers the relationships we could evidence, not the company's full supply base.
SQM and LGES signed a new long-term purchase contract (announced 2023-07-05) for LGES to buy over 100,000 t of battery-grade lithium carbonate/hydroxide during 2023-2029 (nearly tripling a prior 2020 deal for 36,000 t), explicitly 'to maximize benefits' under the US Inflation Reduction Act. SQM's own FY2023 Q2 6-K (SEC EDGAR, tmb-20230817x6k.htm) confirms the agreement was signed in Q2 2023 but does not disclose volume/duration; those terms come from contemporaneous trade press. Source describes SQM as operating mines in both Chile AND Australia without tying this volume to one site, and does not name a delivery country -- flow omitted; the IRA framing points toward LGES's North American cell plants (Arizona, Michigan), not its Seoul HQ.
SK On signed a 5-year deal (signing ceremony 2022-11-04, Seoul) to purchase up to 57,000 tons of battery-grade lithium hydroxide from SQM starting 2023, described as strengthening SK On's supply chain 'in coping with the U.S. Inflation Reduction Act (IRA)'. Source references SQM's IRMA-audited Atacama site in general terms but does not explicitly state this specific tonnage is Atacama-sourced, nor does it name a delivery country -- omitted flow accordingly; the IRA framing points toward SK On's US cell plants (Commerce, TN; Bartow County, GA), not its Seoul HQ.
Hyundai Motor Group brands Hyundai and Kia jointly signed a long-term lithium hydroxide supply agreement with SQM Salar S.A. (announced 2024-06-17), securing 'a portion of SQM's lithium hydroxide supply for electric vehicle production'. Source identifies SQM as a 'Chilean miner' but does not state a delivery country -- coverage speculates the deal supports a North American EV supply chain, not Hyundai's Korean HQ -- so flow is omitted. Volume and financial terms undisclosed.
Hyundai Motor Group brands Hyundai and Kia jointly signed a long-term lithium hydroxide supply agreement with SQM Salar S.A. (announced 2024-06-17), securing 'a portion of SQM's lithium hydroxide supply for electric vehicle production'. Source identifies SQM as a 'Chilean miner' but does not state a delivery country -- coverage speculates the deal supports a North American EV supply chain, not Kia's Korean HQ -- so flow is omitted. Volume and financial terms undisclosed.
SQM and Ford announced a long-term strategic agreement (2023-05-22) for SQM to supply 'battery-grade lithium products sustainably produced in Chile' for Ford's EV batteries; source states 'the origin of SQM's lithium should help Ford vehicles to qualify for the Inflation Reduction Act (IRA) consumer tax credit', tying the Chilean-origin material to US-market EV production. No volume disclosed. No 2024+ source pins a destination: SQM FY2025 20-F (sec.gov sqm-20251231.htm) does not name Ford and puts only 3% of lithium revenue in North America (95% Asia and Others), and Ford tolls lithium through cell makers whose plants the 2023 release does not name -- destination unstated.
Ronghui's ChiNext IPO inquiry response (Oct 2022, auditor BDO/立信): 'SQM 为公司卤水碳酸锂供应商。SQM 也委托公司将其提供的硫酸锂和卤水碳酸锂加工成电池级氢氧化锂和电池级碳酸锂' — SQM supplies Ronghui brine lithium carbonate and also tolls its lithium sulfate/brine carbonate into battery-grade LiOH/Li2CO3; '2022 年,公司与智利SQM签订合作协议…由智利SQM 提供硫酸锂,公司加工成电池级氢氧化锂后销售给智利SQM…每月的加工量为200-300 吨', rising to a 1,500-3,000 t/month target after Ronghui's new plant. Tolling revenue from SQM was RMB 41.6k (2020) and RMB 2.85mn (2021, 0.18% of Ronghui sales). Purchase volumes/values not disclosed. Chilean origin of the sulfate: SQM's FY2025 20-F states dry lithium sulfate from Salar del Carmen 'is currently sent to our refining plant and different tolling facilities in China'.
Scope. Absence of a counterparty here is not evidence that none exists — most commercial sourcing is confidential and never becomes public. Rows without a share figure mean no share was disclosed, not that the relationship is small.
6 other tracked dossiers name this company as a counterparty in its own sourced disclosure — this platform never wrote these rows on this company's own page, they are read here inverted from the dossier that disclosed them. This is a partial view: 1004 additional named-counterparty rows across the corpus could not be matched to a tracked dossier by name at all (mostly non-Latin legal names), so the true count is higher than what renders here.
Ronghui's ChiNext IPO inquiry response (Oct 2022): 'SQM 为公司卤水碳酸锂供应商。SQM 也委托公司将其提供的硫酸锂和卤水碳酸锂加工成电池级氢氧化锂和电池级碳酸锂' — SQM supplies brine lithium carbonate and tolls its lithium sulfate/brine carbonate through Ronghui into battery-grade LiOH/Li2CO3 sold back to SQM; '2022 年,公司与智利SQM签订合作协议…由智利SQM 提供硫酸锂…每月的加工量为200-300 吨', target 1,500-3,000 t/month after the new plant (overall 6,000-8,500 t). Tolling revenue from SQM RMB 41.6k (2020), RMB 2.85mn (2021, 0.18% of sales). Purchase values not disclosed. Chilean origin of the sulfate per SQM's FY2025 20-F ('sent to our refining plant and different tolling facilities in China').
Hyundai Motor Group brands Hyundai and Kia jointly signed a long-term lithium hydroxide supply agreement with SQM Salar S.A. (announced 2024-06-17), securing 'a portion of SQM's lithium hydroxide supply for electric vehicle production'. Source identifies SQM as a 'Chilean miner' but does not state a delivery country -- coverage speculates the deal supports a North American EV supply chain, not Kia's Korean HQ -- so flow is omitted. Volume and financial terms undisclosed.
Hyundai Motor Group brands Hyundai and Kia jointly signed a long-term lithium hydroxide supply agreement with SQM Salar S.A. (announced 2024-06-17), securing 'a portion of SQM's lithium hydroxide supply for electric vehicle production'. Source identifies SQM as a 'Chilean miner' but does not state a delivery country -- coverage speculates the deal supports a North American EV supply chain, not Hyundai's Korean HQ -- so flow is omitted. Volume and financial terms undisclosed.
SQM and LGES signed a new long-term purchase contract (announced 2023-07-05) for LGES to buy over 100,000 t of battery-grade lithium carbonate/hydroxide during 2023-2029 (nearly tripling a prior 2020 deal for 36,000 t), explicitly 'to maximize benefits' under the US Inflation Reduction Act. Source describes SQM as operating mines in both Chile AND Australia without tying this volume to one site, and does not name a delivery country -- flow omitted; the IRA framing points toward LGES's North American cell plants (Arizona, Michigan), not its Seoul HQ.
SQM and Ford announced a long-term strategic agreement (2023-05-22) for SQM to supply 'battery-grade lithium products sustainably produced in Chile' for Ford's EV batteries; source states 'the origin of SQM's lithium should help Ford vehicles to qualify for the Inflation Reduction Act (IRA) consumer tax credit', tying the Chilean-origin material to US-market EV production. No volume disclosed. No 2024+ source pins a destination: SQM FY2025 20-F (sec.gov sqm-20251231.htm) does not name Ford and puts only 3% of lithium revenue in North America (95% Asia and Others), and Ford tolls lithium through cell makers whose plants the 2023 release does not name -- destination unstated.
SK On signed a 5-year deal (signing ceremony 2022-11-04, Seoul) to purchase up to 57,000 tons of battery-grade lithium hydroxide from SQM starting 2023, described as strengthening SK On's supply chain 'in coping with the U.S. Inflation Reduction Act (IRA)'. Source references SQM's IRMA-audited Atacama site in general terms but does not explicitly state this specific tonnage is Atacama-sourced, nor does it name a delivery country -- omitted flow accordingly; the IRA framing points toward SK On's US cell plants (Commerce, TN; Bartow County, GA), not its Seoul HQ.
Scope. This section is inverted evidence: each linked dossier wrote the original row about itself, describing its own relationship to this company. It is never a claim this company itself disclosed. Absence here is not evidence of no relationship — most of the corpus has no named-counterparty block at all yet.
This company sits on the supply side for 2 of its 2 materials — a restriction on those is a tailwind, not a headwind.
As a producer, policy pressure across its produced materials is flat.
Descriptive trend in official policy actions on this company’s materials — a policy-pressure trend, not a price or trading signal. No forward probability is implied. Direction is measured on actions we have discovered, and discovery lags events: where the recent window is too thin to support a calm reading, the row says coverage-limited instead of easing.
No actions in the register have named or swept this company in the last 24 months.