Loading…
Loading…
Hyundai Motor (005380.KS) is South Korea's largest automaker and the world's third-largest vehicle group by volume (alongside Kia, Genesis, and commercial vehicles).
Group exposure score is 81 including 4 tracked subsidiary — standalone is 82.
Named counterparties identified by open-source research and written only where a primary source states the relationship — never inferred from sector or co-mention. 2 suppliers. This is a partial view: it covers the relationships we could evidence, not the company's full supply base.
Announced 2023-04-25 as a Hyundai Motor Group (Hyundai Motor Company/Kia/Hyundai Mobis) and SK On 50/50 JV, since named Hyundai-SK Battery Manufacturing America (HSBMA). Originally targeted H2 2025; re-verified 2026-09-15 — commercial production actually began 2026-06-01, ~7 months later than the original target (per SK On/Hyundai joint statements and multiple trade-press reports of the plant's opening and first cell shipments, July 2026). SK On cells go into Hyundai IONIQ 5, IONIQ 6 and Genesis GV60 among other Group E-GMP models (per Hyundai's own release and follow-on reporting) -- no per-model or per-brand volume/percentage split disclosed.
Hyundai Motor Group brands Hyundai and Kia jointly signed a long-term lithium hydroxide supply agreement with SQM Salar S.A. (announced 2024-06-17), securing 'a portion of SQM's lithium hydroxide supply for electric vehicle production'. Source identifies SQM as a 'Chilean miner' but does not state a delivery country -- coverage speculates the deal supports a North American EV supply chain, not Hyundai's Korean HQ -- so flow is omitted. Volume and financial terms undisclosed.
Scope. Absence of a counterparty here is not evidence that none exists — most commercial sourcing is confidential and never becomes public. Rows without a share figure mean no share was disclosed, not that the relationship is small.
6 other tracked dossiers name this company as a counterparty in its own sourced disclosure — this platform never wrote these rows on this company's own page, they are read here inverted from the dossier that disclosed them. This is a partial view: 1004 additional named-counterparty rows across the corpus could not be matched to a tracked dossier by name at all (mostly non-Latin legal names), so the true count is higher than what renders here.
Chengxin Lithium AR2025: main customers include BYD, CALB, Huayou, SK On, ALB, 现代汽车 (Hyundai Motor), LGES; the hydroxide supply contract with Hyundai Motor Company was signed 2024-01-09 by the company and subsidiary 盛威致远国际 for 2024-2027 (Yicai 2024-02-08). Lithium salt plants are in Sichuan (Deyang, Shehong; 77kt) and Indonesia (PT Chengtok, IMIP Morowali, 60kt, batch supply from Aug-2025); the AR does not say which plant ships to Hyundai or where Hyundai takes delivery, so the route is unstated.
Hyundai Motor Group brands Hyundai and Kia jointly signed a long-term lithium hydroxide supply agreement with SQM Salar S.A. (announced 2024-06-17), securing 'a portion of SQM's lithium hydroxide supply for electric vehicle production'. Source identifies SQM as a 'Chilean miner' but does not state a delivery country -- coverage speculates the deal supports a North American EV supply chain, not Hyundai's Korean HQ -- so flow is omitted. Volume and financial terms undisclosed.
Hyundai Motor + Kia combined accounted for approximately 75% of Mobis's FY2025 sales, per Mobis's own shareholders' meeting disclosure (Mar 2026), with a stated goal of 40% non-affiliate sales by 2033. This is a COMBINED figure only -- individual Hyundai-Motor-alone or Kia-alone shares are not disclosed here. A previously cited BusinessKorea article claiming an individual 39.4% share, and a KED Global article claiming a combined ~90% (Nov 2024), are both no longer reachable (404 / 502) and could not be re-checked against a live source this pass, so those specific figures are dropped rather than restated. related_party: true reflects the Hyundai Motor Group cross-shareholding structure documented in this dossier's ownership block.
SK On and Hyundai Motor Group each hold 50% of the Hyundai-SK Battery Manufacturing America JV. share_pct above is the JV equity split, not SK On's share of Hyundai's battery spend -- no such trade-value percentage is disclosed. Re-checked 2026-09-20 (wake-minerals-buyers, step 0.5): source_url still live, confirms the 50/50 stake and 35 GWh capacity verbatim, but does NOT name specific EV models -- the prior note's 'Ioniq 5, EV6, EV9, GV60' list was unsupported by this source and inconsistent with the sibling dossier 005380-ks (Hyundai Motor), which cites Hyundai's own release for IONIQ 5, IONIQ 6 and Genesis GV60 (no EV6/EV9, both Kia-badged). Model list corrected/removed here rather than repeated uncited.
MOU (13 Nov 2022) gave Hyundai a right to purchase 50,000-100,000 t/yr of low-carbon aluminium from KAI; no share of ADMR's output or revenue disclosed. Not renewed after 2023 -- Hyundai and Adaro Minerals ended the arrangement (reported Apr 2024) after a K-pop-fan climate campaign over the smelter's coal-fired power. MOU ended with no deliveries evidenced; destination unstated.
MoU signed April 8, 2024 for Exide Energy Solutions to develop and supply localized LFP EV battery cells for Hyundai's and Kia's India-market EVs; no volume or value share disclosed. Refresh r19 2026-09-27: an MoU for localized LFP cells for India-market EVs (physically IN>IN), not a purchase and not aluminium/copper into Korea. No corridor credit claimed.
Scope. This section is inverted evidence: each linked dossier wrote the original row about itself, describing its own relationship to this company. It is never a claim this company itself disclosed. Absence here is not evidence of no relationship — most of the corpus has no named-counterparty block at all yet.
Every exposure is read as a buyer dependency; the top 3 are its binding chokepoints.
Dossier discloses a dysprosium, terbium or samarium material exposure directly — A61 §1(2) names Dy/Tb-containing NdFeB and SmCo magnets by element.
A61's suspension (Announcement 70) lapses 10 Nov 2026 — on the plain text, controls revive automatically. The US DoD CN/RU/IR/KP sourcing bar follows 1 Jan 2027. See the underlying extraterritorial export-control action. We supply the provenance file; we never compute your ratio for you.
As a buyer, policy pressure across its consumed materials is rising.
Descriptive trend in official policy actions on this company’s materials — a policy-pressure trend, not a price or trading signal. No forward probability is implied. Direction is measured on actions we have discovered, and discovery lags events: where the recent window is too thin to support a calm reading, the row says coverage-limited instead of easing.
No actions in the register have named or swept this company in the last 24 months.