Loading…
Loading…
Rio Tinto is the world's #2 diversified mining major (post-BHP, ahead of Vale) operating across four structurally distinct profit pools: (1) iron ore — the Pilbara system in Western Australia (~330 Mtpa, the lowest cost-curve seaborne supplier) plus the 2025-operational Simandou Integrated Project in Guinea (SimFer JV with Chinalco; Blocks 3-4 of a 120 Mtpa system); (2) aluminium — fully-integrated bauxite (Weipa AU, CBG Guinea) → alumina (QAL, Yarwun AU) → primary aluminium with hydropower-anchored smelters at Kitimat (BC), Alma/Arvida (Quebec), and Iceland; (3) copper — Kennecott (Utah, integrated mine-smelter- refinery), Escondida 30% (Chile, JV with BHP-operated), Oyu Tolgoi (Mongolia, 66% via Turquoise Hill, underground ramp ongoing), and Resolution (Arizona, pre-permit); (4) lithium / minerals — Rincon Argentina + the 2026 Codelco-JV Maricunga (Chile), legacy/restarted Jadar (Serbia), Iron Ore Company of Canada minority, plus the Richards Bay (
Group exposure score is 66 including 2 tracked subsidiary — standalone is 67.
Named counterparties identified by open-source research and written only where a primary source states the relationship — never inferred from sector or co-mention. 1 supplier, 3 customer-side. This is a partial view: it covers the relationships we could evidence, not the company's full supply base.
Baowu holds 46% of the Western Range iron-ore JV (Rio Tinto 54%, Pilbara) and separately signed an iron-ore sales agreement at market prices for up to 126.5 million tonnes over ~13 years -- its proportional share of the JV's ~275 million tonnes total anticipated production (~25 Mtpa). Per Rio Tinto's 15-Sep-2022 press release; recorded as customer for the offtake agreement, while also being a JV equity partner.
Novelis 10-K, Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements: \"Rio Tinto is our primary supplier of metal inputs, including prime and sheet ingot.\" Purchases from Rio Tinto as a percentage of Novelis's total combined metal purchases: 9% (FY2025), 9% (FY2024), 8% (FY2023). Neither smelter nor Novelis plant location is stated.
MRN (Rio Tinto 22%) FY2024 financial statements, note 21a: bauxite sales to Rio Tinto Alcan Inc. R$321,471k (2024), R$291,343k (2023), and to Rio Tinto do Brasil Ltda. R$33,080k (2024), under long-term shareholder contracts; Rio Tinto Alcan Inc. is booked in MRN's external market. Receiving refinery not stated.
Rio Tinto media release (6-K Ex.99.10, 12 Mar 2026): 'Rio Tinto and Prysmian signed a five-year supply agreement in 2023'; trial rod made from 'low-carbon aluminium from Rio Tinto's hydropowered Alma smelter in Quebec, Canada' and ELYSIS metal; release cites North American data-centre cable demand. Receiving Prysmian plant/country not stated, so destination left open.
Scope. Absence of a counterparty here is not evidence that none exists — most commercial sourcing is confidential and never becomes public. Rows without a share figure mean no share was disclosed, not that the relationship is small.
5 other tracked dossiers name this company as a counterparty in its own sourced disclosure — this platform never wrote these rows on this company's own page, they are read here inverted from the dossier that disclosed them. This is a partial view: 997 additional named-counterparty rows across the corpus could not be matched to a tracked dossier by name at all (mostly non-Latin legal names), so the true count is higher than what renders here.
MRN FY2024 financial statements, note 21a 'Vendas de minério - Receita bruta': Rio Tinto Alcan Inc. R$321,471k (2024), R$291,343k (2023), plus Rio Tinto do Brasil Ltda. R$33,080k (2024) = R$354,551k, 17.24% of the R$2,056,372k total. Larger related-party buyers in 2024: South32 Minerals S.A. R$808,059k, Alunorte R$637,560k. Rio Tinto Alcan Inc. receivable sits in 'Mercado externo'; destination plant not stated.
MoU announced 2024-10-01 (Rio Tinto RNS) to develop a lithium supply-chain commercial partnership for the Teesside refinery — spodumene feedstock security for Green Lithium, offtake/processing route for Rio Tinto. Non-binding MoU stage, not a definitive supply contract, as of this check.
Marubeni's own page: MAA has '23,000 tpa equity aluminium ingot from Boyne Smelter (total 90,000 tpa)' and 'All ingots are exported to mainly Japan and Asian countries.' Boyne Island smelter (Gladstone, QLD, AU) is 73.5% Rio Tinto after its 2024 purchase of Mitsubishi's stake (Rio Tinto release 2024-09-30); Marubeni's interest is via Southern Cross Aluminium (Sumitomo/Marubeni JV, 7.71%). Equity-linked offtake; origin AU (Boyne Island), destination mainly JP.
Two linked long-term agreements announced 2025-02-19: Rio Tinto to supply Metlen ~14.9Mt of bauxite from its CBG mine (Guinea) over 2027-2037 (Rio Tinto = supplier to Metlen); Metlen to supply Rio Tinto 3.9Mt of alumina from the expanded Agios Nikolaos refinery over 2027-2034 with an optional 2035-2037 extension (Rio Tinto = customer of Metlen). Volumes are absolute tonnages, not disclosed as a percentage of either party's sales -- no share_pct given.
Novelis 10-K, Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements: \"Rio Tinto is our primary supplier of metal inputs, including prime and sheet ingot.\" Purchases from Rio Tinto as a percentage of Novelis's total combined metal purchases: 9% (FY2025), 9% (FY2024), 8% (FY2023). Neither smelter nor Novelis plant location is stated.
Scope. This section is inverted evidence: each linked dossier wrote the original row about itself, describing its own relationship to this company. It is never a claim this company itself disclosed. Absence here is not evidence of no relationship — most of the corpus has no named-counterparty block at all yet.
This company sits on the supply side for 5 of its 5 materials — a restriction on those is a tailwind, not a headwind.
As a producer, policy pressure across its produced materials is flat.
Descriptive trend in official policy actions on this company’s materials — a policy-pressure trend, not a price or trading signal. No forward probability is implied. Direction is measured on actions we have discovered, and discovery lags events: where the recent window is too thin to support a calm reading, the row says coverage-limited instead of easing.
🇺🇸 US accounts for 19% of severity-weighted pressure.