Loading…
Loading…
Umicore (legal name UMICORE; Brussels, Belgium; Euronext Brussels UMI, ISIN BE0974320526) is a materials-technology and recycling group with roughly 38 production sites in ~21 countries and 33 LEI-bearing subsidiaries.
Named counterparties identified by open-source research and written only where a primary source states the relationship — never inferred from sector or co-mention. 7 suppliers, 2 customer-side. This is a partial view: it covers the relationships we could evidence, not the company's full supply base.
Mid-to-long-term pCAM (precursor cathode active material) supply agreement announced 27-Mar-2025; COBCO's plant is at Jorf Lasfar, Morocco. Feeds Umicore's own pCAM production at Kokkola (FI, 20,000 t/yr) and China (80,000 t/yr) — the release does not split the volume between the two, so no single flow country-pair is stated. wake-minerals-buyers EU-group-deepmap, closes the pCAM-supplier gap in this dossier's Counterparties, financing and policy section (prose already named COBCO; never structured until this tick, R159 class).
Same 27-Mar-2025 release as COBCO above; E&D's plants are at Saemangeum and Cheongju, South Korea, feeding the same Kokkola/China pCAM sites (volume split not disclosed, no flow stated). wake-minerals-buyers EU-group-deepmap, R159 structuring of already-cited evidence.
Long-term revolving supply agreement for cobalt hydroxide sourced from Glencore's DRC mining operations, first disclosed by Umicore alongside its 2019 sustainable-procurement audit of the Glencore DRC facility. Umicore's own page does not state the agreement feeds Kokkola specifically (vs. Umicore's cobalt business generally) — recorded as the company's cobalt-feedstock relationship, not pinned to one refinery. New find, wake-minerals-buyers EU-group-deepmap 2026-09-29, closes part of the vow3-de.md upstream nickel/cobalt feedstock gap one tier further back (VW/PowerCo -> IONWAY/Umicore -> Glencore).
Long-term agreement for low-carbon nickel sulphate, commercial deliveries already started as of the 2-Feb-2023 release; Umicore's own press release states it covers 'a substantial part of the future nickel requirements of Umicore's cathode materials plant in Poland' — i.e. Nysa/IONWAY, the 50/50 PowerCo(Volkswagen)/Umicore JV. This is the first named ore/feedstock-level supplier found anywhere upstream of IONWAY. New find, wake-minerals-buyers EU-group-deepmap 2026-09-29, closes the vow3-de.md gap on unresearched IONWAY upstream feedstock: the chain is now VW/PowerCo -> IONWAY (Nysa) -> Terrafame (Sotkamo, FI), named and dated.
ACC's Nersac (FR) pilot-plant production scrap is recycled at Hoboken (BE) under an 11-Feb-2022 agreement — ACC supplies the scrap feedstock and is also the paying customer of Umicore's recycling service, hence role: both. Already named in prose (this dossier's Counterparties, financing and policy section); structured here for the first time (R159).
Recorded as customer because the 50/50 JV IONWAY (formalised 2023) exists to supply CAM to PowerCo's cell plants; PowerCo is simultaneously JV partner. First plant Nysa, Poland, production from H1 2026; ambition 160 GWh/yr of CAM by 2030. Nysa named a growth region in the Mar-2026 refocus.
Mid-to-long-term pCAM supply agreement (27-Mar-2025); Umicore 'will start contracting volumes in early 2026'. Chinese-technology pCAM sourced from Morocco to serve Umicore customer contracts in North America and Asia — the China exit at Jiangmen is being substituted in part by a Chinese company's Moroccan plant.
Mid-to-long-term pCAM supply agreement (27-Mar-2025); Umicore 'has already started to contract volumes'.
Scope. Absence of a counterparty here is not evidence that none exists — most commercial sourcing is confidential and never becomes public. Rows without a share figure mean no share was disclosed, not that the relationship is small.
2 other tracked dossiers name this company as a counterparty in its own sourced disclosure — this platform never wrote these rows on this company's own page, they are read here inverted from the dossier that disclosed them. This is a partial view: 985 additional named-counterparty rows across the corpus could not be matched to a tracked dossier by name at all (mostly non-Latin legal names), so the true count is higher than what renders here.
IONWAY, a 50/50 Umicore/PowerCo joint venture (~EUR 3bn combined committed investment), produces precursor and cathode active materials (CAM/pCAM) at Nysa, Poland, supplying PowerCo's Salzgitter cell gigafactory from 2025, ramping to 40 GWh capacity in 2026 and a stated 160 GWh/yr target by 2030. related_party: true — VW/PowerCo co-owns the supplying entity. UPSTREAM FEEDSTOCK (added 2026-09-18, Umicore's own 2023-10-07 Nysa-siting press release, https://www.umicore.com/en/media/newsroom/ionway-first-production-plant-in-nysa/): 'the production facility will benefit from Umicore's nearby CAM knowhow in Nysa and easy access to raw materials from Umicore's refining operations in Finland' — the release does not name the specific Finnish site or which materials (nickel/cobalt/precursor) move from it, so this closes the 'IONWAY's own feedstock sourcing is unresearched' gap only partially: it identifies Umicore's own Finland refining as the feedstock channel, not a third-party mined-ore supplier upstream of that refinery. Total investment now stated at EUR 1.7bn (EUR 1.35bn net of a EUR 350m Polish grant); production start not date-specific (the same 2023-10-07 Nysa release says only that production begins once construction is completed). Dossier: docs/intelligence/dossiers/umicore.md
Long-term strategic supply agreement (announced 2022-04-27) for high-nickel cathode active materials from Umicore's greenfield plant in Nysa, Poland — initial 13 GWh/yr offtake (first commercial volumes early 2024), ambition to grow to 46 GWh/yr by 2030. Supplies Automotive Cells Company (ACC), Stellantis's 33%-owned battery-cell JV, not Stellantis directly — a nickel raw-material-adjacent supplier feeding a Stellantis-owned cell JV rather than Stellantis itself. No cancellation or status change found in a 2026-09-20 check.
Scope. This section is inverted evidence: each linked dossier wrote the original row about itself, describing its own relationship to this company. It is never a claim this company itself disclosed. Absence here is not evidence of no relationship — most of the corpus has no named-counterparty block at all yet.
This company sits on the supply side for 11 of its 14 materials — a restriction on those is a tailwind, not a headwind.
As a buyer, policy pressure across its consumed materials is flat.
Descriptive trend in official policy actions on this company’s materials — a policy-pressure trend, not a price or trading signal. No forward probability is implied. Direction is measured on actions we have discovered, and discovery lags events: where the recent window is too thin to support a calm reading, the row says coverage-limited instead of easing.
As a producer, policy pressure across its produced materials is flat.
Descriptive trend in official policy actions on this company’s materials — a policy-pressure trend, not a price or trading signal. No forward probability is implied. Direction is measured on actions we have discovered, and discovery lags events: where the recent window is too thin to support a calm reading, the row says coverage-limited instead of easing.
🇪🇺 EU accounts for 100% of severity-weighted pressure.